Manchester City Library

Manchester, NH's Online Library

Manchester City Library header image 2

Hands Off! The “Hands Free” Law goes into effect on July 1st.

June 19th, 2015 · No Comments · Books, City Library, Main Branch

“Be it Enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened:  RSA 265:79-c Use of Mobile Electronic Devices While Driving; Prohibition.”



The N.H. State Legislature has passed a law restricting the use of handheld devices while driving a motor vehicle.  Often called the “Hands Free” Law, this new law goes into effect on July 1st. The devices regulated by this law include:  cell phones, GPS devices, tablets, iPods, iPads or any other electronic device requiring data entry. There are exceptions for anyone making a 911 call, using a 2-way radio, or using a Bluetooth-enabled or other hands-free device. Anyone violating the general rule will be guilty of a criminal violation and be charged a fine.  Penalties for violations of the new driving law are as follows: 1st Offense : $100 fine; 2nd Offense : $250 fine; 3rd Offense within 2 years : $500 fine; AND penalty assessments will be added to the fines.

Driver’s under the age of 18 have different laws that will begin to be enforced.  Here’s is what you need to know to keep your younger drivers safe.  For drivers under the age of 18,  use of hand-held or hands-free electronic devices capable of providing voice or data communication while driving or halted at traffic lights or stop signs is against the law.  Teen drivers under the age of 18 will not be allowed to use any electronic devices (hand-held or not) except to report an emergency. Anyone violating this will be subject to penalties and license suspension or revocation.

Here are some handy resources you might wish to read:

New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated 2014 Chapters 259-269 (2014 Cumulative Supplement Insert pg. 58-59).

The Cellphone: The History and Technology of the Gadget that Changed the World by Guy Klemens

Android Phones for Dummies by Dan Gookin

iPhone: The Missing Manual by David Pogue

Overpowered: What Science Tells Us About the Dangers of Cell Phones and Other WiFi Devices by Martin Blank

Smartphones: Opposing Viewpoints edited by Roman Espejo

txtng: the gr8 db8 by David Crystal

To keep things simple, when the New Hampshire Hands Free Law goes into effect, use a bluetooth device if your car isn’t already set up with one – or simply avoid talking on the phone while driving in New Hampshire.  (Better get that bluetooth set up before the mad rush from it begins!) And never, ever text and drive!



Tags: ·······

No Comments so far ↓

Like gas stations in rural Texas after 10 pm, comments are closed.